Nursing Assistant (CNA)

 

Nursing Assistant Programs Delaware

 

 

 

 

 

 

Classroom: Monday & Wednesday (6:30-9:30 pm) Online and at Hodgson Vo-Tech, if safe to do so due to COVID-19.

Clinicals: Monday & Wednesday (5:00-9:30 pm) (usually starts sometime in January)

May include 4 to 5 Saturday/Sunday Sessions (7:00 am-1:30 pm or 7:00 am-4:30 pm)

This course is approved by the Delaware Division of Long Term Care Resident Protection. To meet the requirements, students must attend a minimum of 75 hours in both the classroom and clinical portion of the program. There will not be any make- up beyond the regularly scheduled 165 hours.

Applicants need to contact the AED office at 683-3652 or 683-3651 to schedule a TABE (Test of Adult Basic Education) assessment prior to enrolling. Applicants whose reading score is below the 9th grade level will not be allowed to enroll.

Course # 440 (Hodgson)

This 165-hour course includes the newly mandated requirements for certification. It also provides a basic level of both knowledge and skills necessary for the certification examination required by the State of Delaware. The course will be divided equally between clinical skills training and classroom instruction. Clinical training will take place on Monday and Wednesday evenings, as well as several Saturdays so that the required number of classroom and clinical hours can be achieved. Some of the approved topics include: The Nurse Assistant in Long Term Care, Work Ethics, Legal Aspects of Resident Care, Preventing Infections, Hygiene, Body Mechanics, Nutrition and Fluids, Understanding the Resident, Safety, Exercise and Activity, Oxygen Needs, Assisted Living, Confusion and Dementia, Rehabilitation and Restorative Care and Basic Emergency Care.

The cost of the classroom and clinical instruction, textbook and workbook is $700.00.

Criminal background check, drug screening, flu shot, documentation of a measles vaccine and a tuberculin/PPD test are required prior to beginning the clinical training and are not included in the price of the class. Tuition also does not include the State of Delaware Certification Exam, cost of the uniform, clinical shoes and a watch with a second hand.